What is CTR?

What is CTR?

CTR stands for Click through Rate. It is measured as number of clicks received for your ad divided by the number of impressions served to that ad.

For example, if you bought a banner ad in a website and you have received 4 clicks out of 1000 impressions served. Then your CTR is as follows.

CTR = (Number of Clicks)/ (Number of Impressions served) x 100

= (4 clicks/1000 impressions) x 100

CTR = 0.4%

CTR is a very important metric used in online marketing for calculation of how successful an ad campaign is. A high CTR means, it is an indication that people are finding your ad more useful and therefore they are clicking on your ad more often which results in High CTR.

Purpose:

Generally people browse internet for informational or for entertainment purposes. Nobody will access internet for the purpose of viewing only internet ads and it is the same thing for people watching TV, as very few people watch television for the purpose of viewing only ads. While marketers are spending too much money on online advertisings, they obviously want to know whether their ads are brining any sales or leads or any user initiated actions. CTR is the one of the best metric which will be helpful for marketers to identify which ads were being productive and which were not.

If a person likes your ad, he will click on your ad and comes to your website through that ad. The more people click on your ad, the more people comes to your website. That means, the more clicks you get, and the higher the CTR will be. CTR will be very helpful when running a campaign on CPM basis. As in CPM you will be charged for number of impressions you get.

The higher the CTR will be, the lower you will be charged when buying traffic on CPM basis. As high CTR will lead to high amount of clicks, and therefore it reduces the cost per click.

Here is an example:

Consider you were advertising a banner named “banner1”

And here is the stats for that banner.

Impressions served: 90000

CPM: $2.50

Clicks: 958

CTR: (clicks/impressions) x 100 = (958/90000) x 100

CTR: 1.06% (very high CTR)

Total Spent: 90x$2.50

Spent: $225

Now, to calculate the cost per click,

Since you spent $225 in total for getting 958 clicks, now cost per one click is $225/958 which is equals to $0.234 per click which is very productive.

Let’s assume that, your CTR was very low, which means you received only few clicks.

Impressions served: 90000

CPM: $2.50

Clicks: 46

CTR: (clicks/impressions) = (46/90000) x 100 = 0.05%

CTR: 0.05% (very low CTR)

Total Spent: $225

Now, calculating the cost per click,

$225/46 = $4.89 (Cost per click)

Which means, you have spent around $4.89 per click where in the above, you spent only $0.234 per click. The more clicks you get, the more sales will happen and it’s the same thing when you get less clicks, you will get few sales or no sales at all.

For high CTR, you get high amount of clicks and sales.

For low CTR, you get low amount of clicks and few sales or no sales at all.

That’s why CTR is very important factor in digital marketing.

Usually, most marketers consider 0.1 % CTR is the optimum number. If you are getting even lesser CTR than 0.1% means, you should stop running those banners and work on different banners to achieve at least 0.1% CTR.

Anything under 0.1 % CTR is considered to be not productive.

CTR in email marketing:

CTR is also considered in email marketing. The CTR calculated in email marketing is similar to that of CTR calculated in display advertising or search advertising.

Email CTR can be defined as the number of clicks generated to the number of the emails sent.

(Number of Clicks/ Number of emails sent) x 100 = Email CTR

For example:

If you sent around 1000 emails and you got 9 clicks, then your Email CTR is

[9 clicks / 1000 (emails sent)] x 100 = Email CTR

Email CTR is 0.9%

How to Increase your CTR?

According to my experience, if you advertise to the right audience, your CTR will drastically increases no matter how bad your banner is. Take for example, if you were advertising a Payday loans banner on a kid’s website, how do you think that you will get good CTR? It makes no sense right? If the same payday loan’s creative is being advertised on a payday loan website or a financial site, then you can see huge increase in your CTR. It’s all about targeting the right audience.

The highest CTR i got is around 14% where i have targeted to exact audience which yielded me awesome CTR. What is your highest?

What is CPC?

What is CPC?


CPC stands for Cost per Click. That means, you will be charged per click. Many famous advertising networks like Google AdWords, Facebook Ads offers purchase of their traffic on CPC basis too.

Explanation:

Suppose, you are having a website and you want to get visitors (traffic) to your website. For that, you can create some ads and purchase ad slots in other websites and place your banners ads in other websites. So, that people from those websites will see your ad and click on it and come to your website through that banner ad.

But, mostly many websites uses Google AdWords or advertising networks for displaying ads in their websites. So, in order to display an ad, in the site which is using AdWords, you need to purchase ads from Google AdWords. And Google AdWords offers two type of options to buy traffic or visitors from it.

  1. CPM ( Cost per thousand impressions)
  2. CPC ( Cost per Click )

So, if you bought a banner ad from Google AdWords on CPC basis, that means, you will be charged by Google whenever your ad got clicked by other people.

Say like, the CPC is $2.

That means, for 100 clicks, you will be charged with $200.

Unlike CPM, you will never be charged for the number of impressions your ad will receive. Suppose, if you receive two million impressions and only 2 clicks, you will be charged with $4 only (considering $2 CPC)

Here is an example:

$1 CPC – 105000 Impressions –100 Clicks – you will be charged $100 (Only for Clicks)

$0.50 CPC – 104393839 Impressions – 28 Clicks – you will be charged $0.50×28= $14 only for clicks.

$0.30 CPC – 90043 Impressions – 248 Clicks – you will be charged $0.30×248 Clicks = $74.4 only for clicks.

In the above, regardless of the number of impressions you received, you will be charged only for clicks.

Here is the list of some of the advertising networks which offer their inventory on CPC basis.

  • Google.com/Adwords (Offers both CPC and CPM)
  • Infolinks.com ( Info Links In Text Advertising)
  • Revcontent.com ( RevContent Native Advertising)
  • Facebook Ads ( Offers Both CPC and CPM)
  • Content.ad ( Contet Ad Native advertising)
  • Taboola.com ( Taboola Native Advertising)
  • And many more…

What is CPM?

What is CPM?


CPM stands for Cost for thousand impressions. Usually advertising networks like Google AdWords, Facebook, MSN Ad Center and many others offer advertising in the form of CPM or CPC basis. That means, if you want to buy a banner ad space in a website, you need to buy in CPM or CPC basis.

Suppose, if the CPM rate is $2 for the banner ad that means you will be charged $2 for every thousand times your ad was displayed to the website users.

For example, if you want to display your ad 5000 times, then your cost of advertising will be

$2×5= $10.

In the above, for every $2, you will get 1000 impressions. As the name itself defines, Cost per thousand impressions.

To help you understand clearly, here is another example.

Suppose, you have a Facebook account and you wanted to buy an ad in the right hand side of your Facebook page. You want to display your ad to all the people in United States.

Let’s consider, for the US region, the CPM rate is $5. And there will be millions of people in US region generating thousands of page views (impressions) daily. If you want to spend $100 for advertising in US geo on CPM basis,

Each thousand impressions = $5

For $100, you will get $100/5 = 20 thousand impressions.

In CPM advertising, you will be charged for number of impressions. So, no matter whether you get clicks for banners or not, it doesn’t matter for the company offering CPM advertising.

Here are some of the famous CPM Advertising Networks.

  • TrialFusion.com (Exponential)
  • Conversantmedia.com (Conversant Media)
  • Rhythmone.com ( Rhythmone)
  • 247media.fr/en-us/ (247 Real Media)
  • Mediashakers.com ( Media Shakers)
  • Cpxi.com (CPX Interactive)
  • zedo.com ( Zedo)
  • Google.com/Adwords ( Offers both CPm & CPC)
  • Facebook Ads (Both CPM and CPC)
  • secure.bingads.microsoft.com ( Bing Ads)
  • And many more…

How to Fix Error Establishing a Database Connection in WordPress

Fixing the Error Establishing a Database Connection in WordPress

Many newbies who are trying to install WordPress will often face this error. It may be frustrating when you see this kind of errors even though if you think you have done everything correctly. With the growing popularity of WordPress each day many newbies are trying to install WordPress and still face this error on their screens. I still see many newbies banging their head against WordPress support forum. After seeing many newbies bombarding with questions about this error, I thought of writing a blog post about its fix with all the available solutions.

About the error:

This is how your error would look like

(Error establishing a database connection)

So what exactly happens?

When a user browses your WordPress site, it connects to your database and fetches the data from the database and displays it in your WordPress site. If your site is unable to connect to your database or if your database server is having any issues while fetching the data from it, you will be shown with the message “Error establishing a database connection.”

This is the simple illustration showing what will happen with WordPress when someone access the site.

Solution #1: (wrong database login details in wp-config.php)

While you were installing your WordPress, you will be asked to enter database details for your WordPress installation. If you supply with correct details, it will connect to your database and it will install your WordPress. Sometimes if your database login details were changed or reset, you might get this error. So, check your database credentials in wp-config.php file in your WordPress installation.

Make sure, you have supplied with correct database name, database user name, database password and database host.

If any of the above details were wrong means, you cannot able to connect to your database and therefore you will be unable to access your WordPress site and which is why you will be shown with error message saying “Error Establishing a Database Connection in WordPress”

If you think you have supplied with correct database credentials in your wp-config.php file and still facing the issue, then read solution #2.

Solution #2:

Make sure, your supplied database user has sufficient privileges to the supplied database. Sometimes people forget to assign privileges to the newly created database user for the newly created database. In order to check whether the database user has sufficient privileges or not, just go to your CPanel, and under Databases tab,

Click on MySQL Databases as shown in the above.

After that, if you scroll down a bit, you can see the option “Add users to Database

Now, select the supplied user name from the drop down box and select the supplied Database and click on add the user to the database. In the next screen, you will be shown to choose the privileges you want to offer to the user for that database. In that, assign all the privileges to that user, so that, WordPress can be accessed without any limitations.

And now click on “Make Changes”.

Now, the created user will have full access to the created Database, use this login info in your WordPress wp-config.php file. It should be able to connect to the database and should be able to access your WordPress site without any problems.

If you still facing the same problem, then continue reading with Solution #3

Solution #3:

Sometimes your database server might not work properly or your tables might get corrupted. This occurs usually happens when you receive tons of traffic or when you post too much content. People who face issues with corruption of their database tables are the people who have very big databases say like in Giga bytes. Your database tables might also get corrupted if you have different servers for web and database. Or sometimes, when you submit a post, data will get submitted from your WordPress site to its database, and while it is happening, if there is a connection failure between your webserver and database server, your table gets corrupted due to incomplete entry of the data. There are a lot of reasons why your tables gets corrupted. So, you will get the error “Error Establishing a Database Connection in WordPress” when your table got corrupted.

In order to check whether your tables got corrupted or not, try opening your WordPress admin panel and see if you are still getting the same error?

Open your http://www.yourwebsite.com/wp-admin/index.php

If you are getting a different error say like “One or more database tables are unavailable“. It means, your tables were corrupted. Follow the procedure to fix your corrupted tables.

In order to fix your corrupted tables, open your wp-config.php file and add the following line to your wp-config file.

define(‘WP_ALLOW_REPAIR’, true);

Lets add the above line to the bottom of your wp-config.php file something like the below.

It should appear something like the above.

After adding that line, just visit the following url

http://www.yourwebsite.com/wp-admin/maint/repair.php

You should replace yourwebsite.com to your domain name.

You should be able to see the following screen.

Now, Click on Repair and Optimize Database, in order to fix your corrupted tables. This will fix your corrupted WordPress tables.

It will not ask you to log into your admin panel, as its main intention is to fix your broken WordPress site. So you can simply visit the repair page without logging and repair your database tables.

You can also repair your database tables by logging into your PhpMyAdmin.

Select your WordPress database in your PhpMyAdmin, and select the tables you want repair, and in the bottom you can see the option “With Selected” and under drop down menu, you can select Repair Table. Choose that option to repair your corrupted tables.

Now, if you still can’t resolve your issue, then continue reading further.

Solution #4:

In your wp-config.php file, there is a field called

 

 

 

Usually, most of the hosting providers support using “localhost” as its value. But some hosts, do not support that, so thereby you will get an error saying “Error Establishing a Database Connection in WordPress”

In this case, make sure you ask your hosting provider for database host value. Sometimes it will be different from other than localhost.

For example yahoo hosting uses mysql for its DB_HOST value.

It will not be the same for all hosting providers. If you are still facing this error and have already tried all the above solutions, then check with your hosting provider whether your database host value is different from localhost.

Facing this error in localhost?

If you are getting this error in your localhost, then there is a solution for it. Usually you will get this error when you were using MAMP. Because, many people have reported that using localhost address (127.0.0.1) instead of localhost as DB_HOST has solved their problem.

In that case, the value should be like the following.

/** MySQL hostname */

define(‘DB_HOST’, ‘127.0.0.1’);

Solution #5:

If you recently moved your WordPress site from one domain to another domain and after that, you are facing this error means, it is something to do with your domain name. Maybe your new domain was not got updated correctly in your database. So try to update your new url in your database with the following sql query.

Open your PhpMyAdmin, and click on your WordPress database and then click on SQL


Now, enter the following query

UPDATE wp_options SET option_value=’YOUR_SITE_URL’ WHERE option_name=’siteurl’

Make sure you replace YOUR_SITE_URL with your url.

This might solve the issue for people who have changed their domain recently.

If the above solution does not apply to you and still facing the error, then continue reading further.

Solution #6:

Sometimes, you might experience this problem when you have installed an awful plugin. So try to disable all your plugins and see if you can able to access your site. To disable your plugins, read how to disable WordPress plugins when you can’t access admin panel.

Conclusion:

Finally, I have included all the possible solutions for the error “Error Establishing a Database Connection in WordPress.” If you are still facing this issue means, please comment below with your site address, I would be glad to help you. Or if this article has helped you resolve your problem, share your story with which solution has worked for you.

Link spam – Destroying the Ranking of your Website

Google hates Link Spam. Many People will try this on your website for destroying the Ranking of your Website

Link Spam

Initially, when the fake process of spamdexing or link spamming started, the spammers used to enrich the content of the targeted website with such words that matched the keywords. This eventually increased the ranking of the pages and was called content spam or term spam. This was one classification of spamdexing or Black-Hat SEO.

Now, let’s talk about its other classification that is called link spamming. Enlighten yourself about what is a Link spam? Misleading the search engines to rank a not-so-good website with the top slot during searching is called link spamming. In this mischievous technique, the ranking of the link-based website is increased artificially. This is actually a major problem faced by the search engines and has economic implications over the internet community.

An insider view of Black-Hat SEO

Black Hat Seo

When you are making a website you need to stick to the fair rules of the game in order to succeed in your business. But, having an insight in to the crooked minds of your competitors becomes essential to develop your defense-mechanism.

You generally create hyperlinks to connect your pages to different links. Ranking of link-based pages is done by the link-based ranking techniques like Page Rank. When these techniques evolved, the spammers started to construct spam farms. That was basically the collection of interlinked spam pages.

The modus operandi of the link spammers is really a smart one. They don’t believe in value-based SEO but aim at increasing the traffic to their site. They may link your website to the spam sites or porn sites which will obviously reduce the traffic to your site and defame your business. Spammers buy these spam links and use deceptive techniques to fool the Page Rank Algorithm. For this reason, web community often calls link spamming as Negative SEO.

Types of link spamming

There are various methods for link spamming that can be used by the skilled spammers:

  • Link building software: These software automate the SEO process
  • Link farms: Coupled links of web pages that are mostly spam.
  • Hidden links
  • Sybil attack: Mainly used for affecting blogs ranking. The spammers generate different websites that point to each other. These websites are mostly the fake ones but result in increasing the data traffic towards a link.
  • Guest Blog Spam: In this method, guest blogs may be placed at your website that will in turn point to some other link.
  • Page hijacking: In this procedure, the snapshots of main website are linked to spam pages.
  • Through cookies stuffing, the records of the net behavior activities of the visitors can be kept.

Solution

Solution for LinkSpam

Being the owner of the site, you need to be really watchful about the tools of the search engines that can tell you the exact statistics about the links associated with your website. Such tools also help in blocking the suspicious links that may possibly be the spam.

And last but not the least, what is a link spam? , is known to you so, build a website that is credible and a rich in content.

How to double your traffic with effective Infographics

Infographics is one of the best way to boose your traffic.

There is no denying that infographics are starting to rule the internet. They are catchy, fun and easily shareable. According to Unbounce, the demand for infographics has increased by a whopping 800% just in the last two years.

Source

But why?

WebMD stated that a human brain can register visual information 60,000 times faster than normal text. And in fact, 65% of the people are visual learners. That is why, a lot of content marketers are using infographics to reach out to their prospective audience. With infographics, you can share complex information in an easy way.

Infographics can definitely increase your website traffic to a large amount but only when its done the right way. Otherwise you will just end up losing your time and money with absolutely no results. Lucky for you, I have prepared an extensive walkthrough to help you create a successful infographic.

  • Using all the elements of infographic in the correct way

Let’s face the obvious fact – not all infographics go viral. While some infographics are shared with thousands of people across social media platforms, others just sink into an oblivion. But what differentiates a great infographics from an average one are the elements which include method, correct statistical data and a unique view. Paying attention to these three elements can assure your success.

  • Method

This resonates to how you perceive the data collected for your infographic and how you decide to present it. You might choose to go with the same graphs or flow charts but you have to understand how your audience perceives the content you show.

The title of infographics is also very important. If your audience is more inclined towards ‘how-to’ posts then your infographics should be titled accordingly, on the other hand, if you run a tech blog your topics should be more tech savvy.

  • Correct Statistical Data

Your audience won’t be convinced with an infographic if it’s solely based on your personal opinions. What you need is correct statistically researched information from verified sources.

Most of the infographics source their data from several different articles across the internet

  • Unique View

The idea is to select a topic which can really connect with your readers on an emotional level and make them think. The graphics and characters used in your infographics should be able to tell their story in a click. What you need do is – bend the rules and take a different approach. Just because all of your competitors are following the same format doesn’t mean you have to do it too. Be different and take a different approach

Source

  • Coming up with topics that actually work

Readers’ attention span is decreasing by every year and publishers are doing everything in their power to grab attention of their audience. Again, your topics should be good enough to grab your audience’s attention and their emotion as well. And we get it, great topics don’t just fall over your head, you need find and scratch them out.

Here are some ways to get amazing topics

  • Trending Topics

This is definitely one of the best ways to get attention of your readers. Search for topics through Google Trends and see what people are talking about in your specific niche. If there is one topic or a keyword which is getting a lot of attention, pick it up and create an infographic around it.

  • Evergreen Topics

Some topics never go out of trend. Year in and year out, someone is always talking about them on social media or searching about them on Google. What you need to do is, find out all those topics and pick out the best one for your infographic.

  • Controversial topics

If there is a topic people are debating and fighting over, then you should definitely pick it up. Simply because, you get more audience. Some people might like it while some might completely hate it, but both of them would definitely come by to have a look at your infographic.

  • Most viewed content

This is a very simple technique to find trending topics. All you have to do is find out what content on the other websites is getting the most attention and work with it. You could use a website like docstoc.com which displays featured articles from all over the net and you can even search based on your target keyword.

  • Creating useful and most importantly, sharable infographic

Useful can have a different definition for everyone. For some of your readers, a useful infographic could be something that gives them a deep insight into the topic and gives them actionable points while for other readers a useful infographic could be something short and sweet which gives them more information in a short period of time.

Buzzsumo shared an interesting article on why some content go completely viral while the others do not. And here is what they found out from their research – content with images obviously gets the most shares, infographics are among the most shared content and people share what they find useful.

Finding accurate data

The data you use in your infographic is as important as the graphics. There is absolute no room for error here. Picking up wrong insights will not only discourage your readers, it could also take their faith away from your content. The data you pick out for your infographic could be scattered around several different websites, but its your job to correctly combine them together.

Here are some sources you could use to collect data –

Apart from that, it is also important to understand the Color Psychology. Many content marketers regularly ignore the power of color psychology. Every color gives out a different message and you should be able to connect your text with these colors to create the impact you have been looking for.

For example, the color red is associated with power and action. So may be, you could use it for ‘call to action’ purposes.

Here is an infographic explain the power of each color:

Source

  • Designing the perfect infographic

Now that you have all the data and everything you would want in your infographic, its time for design! Now there are two ways to go about it – you could either do it yourself or hire a professional graphic designer to do it.

If you want to create an infographic by yourself, you don’t go back to a complicated tool like Illustrator or Photoshop, there are many websites that can help you create infographics with just a simple click. Canva and Infogr.am are two of the best ones available. You could also use Piktochart or Visually.

But, if you would want to hire a professional graphic designer, its really easy with so many freelancer marketplaces available. If you want to go for a cheaper alternative, you could go for Fiverr. Most of the basic gigs on Fiverr are worth $5, but you can pay a little extra if you want your infographic a little bigger than the standard size. You should know that Fiverr freelancers get a lot of orders in a single day and most of the infographics are mass produced. We would recommend choosing this option only when you are low on budget. Payments are done through PayPal, you have to pay an extra fee of $0.5 as processing fee. One drawback of Fiverr is that you cannot communicate with the freelancer outside the website which could prove as a problem if you are working on a long project.

oDesk is another great place to get your freelancers. Most of the freelancers in the market have set up their profile on the website. All you have to do is post your job explaining the details of your project with your budget and you will start getting proposals within 10 minutes. Though the freelancers here aren’t as cheap as Fiverr but you will definitely get a better quality here. In fact, there are many kinds of freelancers on the websites – from top notch graphic designers to part time ones. The first thing you should ask for are their portfolios to understand the kind of work they do and you should also ask about the total number of revisions they do and how much they charge for extra revisions. oDesk lets you communicate with your freelancer outside the website

  • Publishing and distributing your infographic

Now if you are hiring a professional graphic designer, he might or might not help you with publishing your infographic, but honestly you don’t need much supervision with that.

You could upload your infographic like you upload all your other pictures and make it private. But, that would only make it more difficult to share your infographic across all platforms. That is why, you need to make your infographic as easily sharable as possible. The right social sharing techniques can actually give your infographic a constant exposure

Make it available on Facebook, Twitter and even Pinterest, of course, make sure all the links come back to your website. You could also have an HTML code presented on your post to make it easier for people to embed your infographic in their posts.

Generating an embed code

The first thing you need to do before going to an HTML code generator is to copy/paste your post URL and your image URL. Make sure, the image you upload on your website is in its original size.

You could use an online embed code generator like Siege. All you have to do is enter the basic details about your image and post, describe the dimensions of the HTML code box and you are done!

Apart from Siege, there are many other online embed code generators along with several WordPress plugins to help you out. And in case you are a do-it-yourself person, you could create your own embed code through this 5 step guide by Hubspot.

Distributing your infographic

Now, you have worked really hard on creating the perfect infographic and you want people to notice it and really like it. There is a lot you can do apart from sharing it on social media. There are a lot of websites where you can submit your infographic to get more inbound.

For submitting your infographics, you could either hire someone on Fiverr to submit your infographic to several websites. Here are a few gigs available on Fiverr.

Or, if you are feeling adventurous, you can do it yourself. To start, here is a guide on how to upload your infographics and a list of 100 websites where you can submit your infographic.

Also, make sure your posts are easily sharable with the share buttons right next to the post and your infographic image. And of course, there is the good old methods of blogger outreach guest blogging and press releases.

  • Testing out different type of infographics

This is one of the most important part of creating an infographic – you have to know what works and what doesn’t. There is no sense in spending your money and time on infographics that are already failing to get audience’s attention.

Start with testing different layouts. Keep the content and graphics of the infographic absolutely same but change the layout and share it on social media, through your insights check which of the two are getting more attention. You could also experiment with different fonts and see what kind of fonts resonates more with your audience.

Source

Now, infographics will obviously increase hits to your website but that is not the only metric you should focus on. Comments and page views are important but you should focus more on building an email list and getting more clients/ customers.

The idea is to use your infographic to generate more and more leads for your business and optimize it for conversion. You should align the promotions of your infographic with boost in your sales

Have you created an infographic before? How was your experience like?

Sitescout Review: How to Run a Profitable Campaign with SiteScout (RTB)

How to Run a Profitable Campaign with SiteScout (RTB)

Almost 90% of affiliate marketers who start media buying with SiteScout (RTB) will give up at some point after losing decent amount of money. Because, most of the media buy starters will fail with RTB if they don’t setup their campaign in the way it should setup.

If you don’t know what RTB means, a RTB platform is a Real Time Bidding Platform, where you can bid on the site you want and if you won the bid means, your ad will be displayed immediately on the publisher site.

You can buy traffic from any site you want by using DSP (Demand Side Platforms) like SiteScout. By using RTB method you can bid on the site you want to get impressions from and if you win the bid means, your ad will be displayed.

DSP’s will have inventory from many ad exchanges like Appnexus, Google Ad Exchange, Right Media, Pubmatic, OpenX and many more. So, simple to say, you will have billions of impressions daily. All you need is good budget to buy the traffic you wanted.

RTB’s are generally used to leverage their ad campaigns. Since, there is huge inventory available across DSP’s. You no need to worry about traffic anymore. And moreover it may go even worse by losing good amount of money in minutes or even seconds. I had days where I lost thousands of dollars in few minutes. Like I said, due to the sheer size of inventory available, you could get millions of irrelevant or untargeted impressions in minutes and there by ending with huge loss.

So, before starting your SiteScout campaign, you need to make sure that you have targeted the right audience.

Here, I am going to show you how to properly setup your SiteScout campaign, to reach your potential customers and make your campaign profitable.

Things you need before you start a campaign with SiteScout.

  • A niche
  • An offer you are going to promote
  • Tracking Link (If you don’t know how to create a tracking link means, here i have explained how to create a tracking link with CPV lab. )
  • Banners

Here, I have chosen the niche, Fantasy Football

And I have already have the tracking link, offer and banner.

As part of an example, I am using the following banner

Fantasy Football

Step 1:

First of all, log in to your SiteScout RTB platform by opening the url

http://rtb.sitescout.com

I am assuming you already have an account with SiteScout. If not, you can easily create one by following this link

https://rtb.sitescout.com/registration/

Step 2:

Now, in the top right hand side, you can see a button named New”

Click on New, to setup the campaign.

You can see the following options when you try to setup your new campaign.

Website Campaign:

If you already know the sites where you wanted to advertise on, then this is the option you need to choose when setting up your new campaign. Or if you have aggregated a list of sites by doing competitive analysis, then you need to choose this Website Campaign.

Retargeting Campaign:

If you want to retarget your audience, then this is the campaign you need to choose. When people click on your ad and left without making any conversion, then you can display the same ad or another ad to the same customer who has shown interest earlier. You can display ad to them till they make a conversion by showing your ad in every site they visit. This type of campaign will greatly increase conversion rate by converting lost customers.

For this, you need to record clicks from people who visit your landing page. I will explain more about this later in this topic.

Audience Campaign: If you want to acquire new audience and you don’t have any data, then you need to use this Audience Campaign. In SiteScout, you can get data from different data providers. For example, if you are trying to promote a beauty product, then you can choose the custom audience group which was collected by data companies. You can simply target that group in SiteScout, so there are very good chances that these people who have already bought beauty product might buy your products too.

You can find almost all types of groups basing on Gender, Demographics, Interests and many more.

Contextual Campaign: This is similar to Google Adwords, where you can target contextually. That means you select keywords and then your ads will be displayed whenever the ad server finds your keywords in the publisher’s site. This is a great way to reach your targeted audience.

Video Campaign:

With Video Campaign, you can place ads in videos like in-stream video ads.

Facebook Campaign:

In SiteScout, you can also target people in Facebook, but in order to use this, your landing page and ads need to be complied with Facebook Ad policies otherwise you cannot target Facebook audiences.

Step 3:

Here, I am going to show you how to acquire new audience using SiteScout. So, I am going to use Audience Campaign.

Remember to create different campaigns for Desktop and Mobile. Never ever create a same campaign for both platforms. As, bids may vary for Desktop, Mobile and Tablet.

Step 4:

I am assuming you already have your tracking link which leads to your landing page.

Enter your tracking url in the Destination URL field and choose the other settings like Frequency Cap, Default CPM Bid and daily budget.

I am going to use minimal settings as shown below.

Frequency Cap: 3 per 24 hours
CPM Bid: $0.40
Budget: $100 / Day

Step 5:

Now, choose your country where you want to display your ads and select the option On under Conversions to track your conversions from SiteScout.

Create a New Conversion Pixel by click on New Conversion when setting up your new SiteScout Campaign. You can see in the above screenshot.

I have named it as Test Conversions, you can see below as I have assigned a conversion value too.

Now, your newly created conversion pixel will be shown under Available Conversions.

It should look like the following one

Now, click on Track, to track conversions of your campaign. You can able to get the conversion pixel code by click on its settings.

You can either get its html tags or you can capture the converted audiences.

For now, I am going to use just Tags which can be used in my tracking platform. Your conversion pixel code might look below.

You can also use the Audience Capture option to capture audiences who got converted. So, you can exclude the converted people from Retargeting Campaign as shown below.

Anyways, finally, your tracking section will look like below.

Step 6:

Coming down, you can Advanced section, where you can further optimize your campaign.

Under Advanced section, you can find the following options.

  • Contextual
  • Page Position
  • Brand Protection
  • Campaign Audience Capture
  • Basic Optimization

Contextual:


With Contextual, you can target contextually, for example, if you search for the keyword football, you can find contextual group of audience related to football.

This is a great way to reach your targeted audience.

Page Position:

You target the ad spots basing on their locations, like if you want to display your ad on only Above the Fold or Below the Fold, you can do that using SiteScout RTB platform.

Above the fold ad spots tend generate good CTR’s but you can only win that spot with higher bid, whereas you can get Below the Fold ad spots with cheaper bid rate.

Brand Protection:

One of the important setting in SiteScout is, Brand Protection. Since it is an RTB platform which contains huge amount of impressions from different sources, so that means, it can also include junk traffic. If you are trying to target decent audience, you need to filter junk traffic by using Brand Protection.

With this, you can filter displaying your ads to kid’s sites, hate sites, weapon sites, torrent sites and many more. There are also options available to choose for what kind of sites you want to display your ads.

So, go through all the available options and filter your traffic.

Campaign Audience Capture:

With Audience capture, you can capture audiences who clicks and lands on your landing page or who made a conversion or event.

You can capture any of the above three type of audiences.

In this setup, I am going to capture Clicks, so that I can retarget the people who had shown interest to my product and have visited my landing page.

So, I am creating a new Audience with the name Test Clicks.


Later, I will use these audiences in my retargeting campaign.

Basic Optimization:

In this setting, you can set your ads and placements to auto optimize basing on the metrics like CTR, eCPC.

So, you no need to worry about the ads and placements which are not performing well for you.

Step 7:

Moving on to the next step, like I said in the earlier, you need to create different campaigns for Desktop, Mobile and Tablet.

So, since we have already created a desktop campaign, we are going to filter other device traffic like mobile and tablet.

Step 8:

This step is about choosing your audience. In this step, you are going to choose your audience. Since, I have already mentioned in the beginning that my niche is about Fantasy Football.

So, my targeted people would be people who are interested in Football. Here I am searching for football audience.

In the above, I have searched for Football keyword and so I was returned with the above results. It shows the groups and the number of impressions available with their respective bids.

In order to get inventory from those groups, I need to have a good bid which is higher the listed bid. You need to keep on raising your bid until you see some traffic coming through.

Note: Don’t ever raise your bid too high, as this may result in eating up your entire budget even if you have limited your daily budget. Go slowly with your bid and wait sometime after you raise your bid. As the adserver may take some time to adapt the changes.

Anyways, here I am going to select my targeted groups.

And adding all these groups as a New Group.

Now, that I have selected my audience.

Step 9:

In the next step, you have the option to choose whether your ads should be distributed across RON (Run on all Exchanges) or few ad exchanges.

If you have narrowed your target so well, then you can go for RON otherwise, you must stick with few ad exchanges. When you got some results, then you can scale it to other Ad Exchanges as well.

Here in this setup, I think, I have narrowed down my targeting, so I am going with running on RON. But usually, RON setting is preferred when you have the list of sites where you want to advertise on.

Suppose, if you have complied a list of sites by doing competitive analysis, then you will have few sites where you want to advertise on. In this case, you can choose RON setting and use a Domain List setting in the bottom. So that, your ads will only be displayed on the sites where you want them to be. This RON setting will get you maximum inventory from those sites from all available ad exchanges.

Step 10:

Now, the next step is, Inventory. In this step, you need to upload your creatives. Here I am going to upload my creative which I have already shown you in the above.

After I have created my ad, it will look like the below.

And finally, a preview of your settings would look like the below.

Now, review all your settings, before you launch your campaign. You can always edit your campaign, but altering the countries and destination url will lead your campaign to go for review again.

So make sure, you have all your settings set correctly.

Now, finally, you will get a confirmation message after you have launched your campaign.

Now, your newly created campaign is submitted for review, once it got reviewed you will start receiving impressions.

But, hey wait, you are not finished yet. Here is the important step which most people forget. You need to retarget your audience who is going to show interest on your product by visiting your landing page.

You need this step because, mostly, the impressions you will receive are like, you will receive a single or very few impressions from many sites. If this is the case means, you will never get a conversion.

Since, it is a RTB platform, there are very good chances that you may not win impressions all the time. So, you will end up getting very impressions from too many websites. In those too many websites, some people may click on your ad and they may visit your landing page. But didn’t got converted.

And it is very hard to show your ad in the same placement to the same user with your usual Audience campaign.

In order to show ad to the user who has shown interest in our product, we will capture people who have visited our landing page.

Step 11:

In order to capture the visitors who have visited our landing page. You need to place a code in your landing page. You can get the code from My Audiences in your left hand side.

Under My Audiences, you can see your Test Click audience group which you are going to build when you run your audience campaign. It will start collecting visitors who have landed on your landing page.

But for this to work and to start collecting visitors, you need to place the code in your landing page. You can get the code from its settings as shown below.

Now, copy that tag code and place that code immediately before </body> tag in your landing page.

Once you have added this code in your landing page, it will start recording visits and will build your audience group.

Step 12:

Now, it is the time to create your Retargeting campaign. Without this, you will never get profitable with SiteScout, unless you have your own list of sites which you think they will work for you.

Now, like we created our first campaign earlier, just head on to New and click on Desktop > Retargeting Campaign.


And set all other settings same and keep your frequency cap to 10, so that, your ad will be displayed to the recorded user in every website he visits. This will help you to get an increase in your conversion rate and also CTR.

Step 13:

Now, when you come to the setting Audiences. You need to choose your Audience group, which you have already created in the beginning of your campaign creation and this Audience group can be seen clearly in the list as shown below.

Click on Target in order to Target to those people. If you are recording conversions also, then you click on conversions audience group and click on Exclude.

So, that your retargeting campaign won’t show ads to people who were already converted.

And it would look like below

Now, choose RON, so that you can able to reach your potential customer more widely by getting traffic from all Ad Exchanges.

After that, upload your creatives which you wanted to display to the visitor who has already shown interest in your product.

After you have uploaded your creatives, review your campaign settings and launch your campaign.

Step 14:

Wait, till your campaigns got approved. Then, run both campaigns simultaneously. In your audience campaign, filter the placements or sites which are not brining any clicks to your landing page.

If you get a click, he will be recorded and added to your remarketing list and then he will be shown your ad all the time wherever he go and whatever the site he view, your ad will be displayed to him.

If you do this properly, by filtering placements which are not working, then, in the end, you will be left with placements which will work for you. So, you can maximize your campaign and get into profits.

Things to remember:

  • You need to have decent amount of money for testing. Since, SiteScout has a minimum budget of $500, which means, without proper test budget, you will never make any money with it.
  • Always, narrow down your targeting, otherwise, you will end burning up your entire funds in your account.
  • Never set higher bids, unless you know what you are doing. Since, the adserver is dealing with billions of impressions, it will take a while to stop the adserver running your ads, and when you have higher bids set, even if you pause your campaign, it will stop after few minutes. So, in the mean, it will eat your budget with highest bid.
  • Without Remarketing, don’t run an Audience campaign, as it will get your few impressions from thousands of sites.
  • Remember to place remarketing tag in your landing page, otherwise it won’t record the visitors.
  • Remember to pause the sites which are not getting you any clicks. It will help you to save your budget.

If you need any help with SiteScout campaign, you can leave a response below.

Which is the best comment system for your blog

If you have a blog then we are sure installing a comment system has been one of your biggest worries. You want your comment system to be easy to navigate for your readers but at the same time it shouldn’t be so easy that it attracts spam.

While there is no perfect comment system, it all depends on your requirements and the kind of readers you get on your blog every day. And that is why you need to understand the positives and negatives of each one of them.

Here are some of the comment systems available right now:

  1. Base comment system

This is the default comment system available on the platform you are using. Most of the blogging platforms like WordPress, Tumblr and Blogger have their own version of it. There is no doubt that all of them have their own shortcomings, but most of the people still prefer it over third party plugins.

Why? Because they are faster. And also because installing a third party comment system takes a lot of effort. Blogger and Tumblr’s comment system cannot really detect spam that easily, with the Akismet plugin in WordPress it does make it easier to withhold spam comments. But again, even the plugin cannot guarantee you 100% spam filter.

  1. Disqus

Definitely one of the most famous commenting systems, it is preferred by most of the big websites. In fact, according to a recent survey, Disqus is preferred by 75% of the websites right now. Firstly because it integrates easily with any platform without any fuss and secondly because it is highly customizable.

If you are using Disqus for the first time or you have decided to migrate on to Disqus, integrating it with your blog is extremely easy. After signing up on Disqus, you can check the Import/ Export options that let you import your existing comments from other platforms like Blogger, WordPress and Tumblr.

It is absolutely mobile friendly. Even when its interface is swapped with different mobile devices, its efficiency remains absolutely unchanged. Disqus also offers iPhone and Android mobile apps to help website administrators in handling their comments.

And leaving comment on Disqus is absolutely convenient and easy. The commenting is real time which means you do not need to refresh the page to see new comments

The Disqus commenting system requires all the users to register through email, Facebook, Twitter or Google + in order to comment. Once you have registered, you can comment on any website which has Disqus as its commenting platform.

Every time someone leaves a comment, the other commenters are notified about it through email. Readers can like someone’s comment or directly reply on it. Disqus users can also tag any other user in their comment. Users also have the option of attaching photo, video or a link.

As for you as the website administrator, Disqus makes it easier to decide if you want all your comments to be put into moderation or you only want those users in moderation whose email hasn’t been verified yet. It also has the provision of adding several other moderators to clear out the moderation queue quickly.

But then, the compulsory registration could definitely be a turn off for some users and Disqus is a little slower than the native commenting system.

To set up your own Disqus commenting system, register here at Disqus Engage.

  1. Facebook Commenting System

There is hardly anyone left on this earth who doesn’t use Facebook. With an embedded commenting system, you not only get verified users but this also means your users don’t have to login when they decide to leave a comment. If they are already logged into their Facebook account, they are good to go.

Choosing Facebook commenting system on your blog means a better exposure for your website. This kind of exposure is usually much bigger than a small mere like.

Users can also share the blog posts, receive notifications about the subsequent comments on their Facebook account and of course, like the comments. This is definitely great for users who like stating their views publically but this could be a bad platform for users who don’t want their name or profile pictures out in the public.

Also, Facebook commenting system is not linked to any other commenting system, which mean you are all set to lose to lose your old comments if you decide to migrate on to Facebook.

You can generate code for Facebook comment plugin from here and in case you are shopify user you can get your Facebook plugin here for $2.99 per month.

  1. Livefyre

Similar to Disqus, Livefyre is also a great third party plugin. All users need to register on Livefyre before publishing a comment. They can register either by email, Facebook, Twitter, Google + or Linkedin.

Now, LiveFyre might be new but that does not mean they are naïve. Livefyre has all the features found in other commenting systems, it is engaging and super user friendly.

The users can follow a conversation, tag people on their comments using ‘@’, just like Facebook, share a particular comment on social media and also flag a comment if they find it inappropriate. A special feature of Livefyre is that you can know the number of commenters online and the number of commenters listening to a conversation.

Just like Disqus, Livefyre too has strong moderation features which includes multiple moderators, spam protection blacklists, whitelists and individual activity reports. And of course, it is completely mobile friendly.

You can install Livefyre for WordPress and Tumblr from here just by creating a free account.

The comment system you choose should completely depend on the technology you are using on your blog as well as what is more feasible to both you and your users.

Which comment system do you use on your blog?

  1. IntenseDebate

This commenting system was actually created by the amazing people who brought to WordPress, Akismet and PollDaddy. So there is absolutely no way to side line this one.

If your website is backed up by WordPress and you are looking for a third party commenting system, then this is a sure shot bet for you. Since IntenseDebate was actually coded by the same people who created WordPress.

Just like Disqus and Livefyre, users are supposed to login to leave a comment. The users can get email notifications about follow up comments, which is a great way to keep your readers engaged.

InstenseDebate also allows you to flag a comment if you find it inappropriate in away, and not just that, it also lets you give a reason for flagging. One of the distinctive features of IntenseDebate is that, it allows users to tweet the same comment they have just posted on your blog, which of course means, more traffic.

One feature that we absolutely loved was that the users can reward and give points to good and thought out comments, and these comments appear on top of the list, far away from the less quality comments. This is a great way to encourage good quality content on your blog.

Users can login through an Open ID, Twitter, Facebook or their WordPress.com login. There are numerous widgets that website administrators can choose to install like top commenters, popular and the most recent comments.

And with its Plugin API, you add features like PollDaddy or embed video links.

  1. Vicomi

This is a very simple comment system with a singular selling point – its colourful emoticons. Now we are sure that you might have actually not heard of Vicomi but that could actually attract more people to comment on your blog.

With Vicomi, you can be absolutely sure that you are not missing out on sarcasm in the context of any comment, because users can clearly share their emotion along with their comment.

Users can get credits for their comments by other users. If users like a comment, they can recommend it or if they find an irrelevant or an offensive comment, they can flag it. This is sort of self-moderation which can actually help you in the moderation process. It has a separate dashboard from where you can manage all your comments.

Of course, its biggest con is that it’s not so famous and users might just look confused when they see this but again, this could also work to your advantage. But because its design looks so fun and colour, it is definitely not suitable for those serious hard hitting blogs. It all depends on who your audience is and how you want your audience to perceive your blog.

With all that being said, the most important thing here to understand is that there is absolutely no perfect choice. Each one of these comment systems mentioned above have one or the other problem, but it is for you to decide which one of them best suits your requirement and your expectations.

Which comment system are you using on your blog right now?

YouTube Ranking Factors

How to rank your YouTube video with YouTube Ranking Factors

YouTube is the second largest search engine in the entire web coming after Google. And according to Alexa it is ranked 3rd globally that means it is the third most visited website in the entire world.

According to quantcast, it is the second most visited website in the United States.

And according to Similarweb, it is ranked 3rd globally. See below for its statistics.

YouTube is viewed not only for entertainment purposes but also for their educational purposes. YouTube is getting more searches on “how to”. More and more people are searching for how to make a recipe, how to fix hair, how to kiss and so on in YouTube. As we all know “Actions speak louder than words”, so people are preferring to watch videos for “how to” things rather than reading a text.

According to data released by Google, not only there is an increase of number of searches for “how to” videos, but also increase in the videos viewed on “how to” content has grown to more than 100 million hours.

The number of “how to” searches in YouTube are increasing significantly every year by 70%. So far this year people have viewed around 100 million hours of “how to” videos in YouTube according to report revealed by Google.

Some of the most popular how to search terms are below

How to remove wallpaper

How to decorate your bedroom

How to videos on prom hair

Since, YouTube videos can also be ranked in Google, you can get even more traffic to your videos if it was well ranked.

Your videos can also get traffic from video search engine in Google.

Google recently started providing YouTube data in Google Trends. Google trends provides the list of trending topics, now it has added YouTube data also, that means people can search trending topics in YouTube too. Since, it has significant amount of traffic, Google Trends has incorporated YouTube’s data in it. So it is very important to have your presence in YouTube which will help you to get more visitors both from YouTube and Google search.

YouTube Search Results:

Similar to Google Search Engine Results, YouTube also uses the same pattern for displaying the search results, like by displaying Sponsored Ads at the top of the search results followed by normal results.

You can also rank your YouTube videos in related videos which will bring good traffic too.

YouTube Ranking Factors:

The following are the YouTube ranking factors which will help you increase your video presence in YouTube search results.

Meta Data:


  • Title:
    The first and important ranking factor for YouTube video is its Title. Your video title needs to be exactly to what people are searching for. Suppose, if your video is about reviewing a Samsung Galaxy S6, then your video title needs to be Samsung Galaxy S6 Review. If your video content does not contain what people are looking for, then people won’t like your video and therefore your video won’t get ranked. Competing for general terms will also won’t help you to get ranked. Suppose, the title Samsung Galaxy S6 is a broad keyword, setting your title for your video won’t help you to get ranked for that keyword. You need to be more descriptive about your title, so that people can find what they want with your video.
  • Description: Your video description also plays an important role in factors affecting your video ranking in YouTube. I have seen many videos with a url in its description, those videos don’t do well in YouTube. You need to write a good description for your video, write about 400-500 word description for your video.
    Talk about your video, write about what your video is all about.
    Many people just use a short description with stuffed keywords and a url in description. These videos don’t perform well in YouTube search. As we all know “Content is the King“, so you need to fill your description with good content. Make sure you use your keyword and provide a realistic description for your video. Include a link to your website as apart of call-to-action in the description, so that after watching the video, they will click on your link in the description if they find it useful.

  • Tags: Tags for your videos also plays an important role in ranking your YouTube video. You need to have atleast 10 tags, unlike Google, YouTube is a bit different when it comes keywords. You need to include both singular and plural terms of your keywords. Otherwise, if you include only plural term, then YouTube don’t even consider ranking your video for singular term. So, make sure you include both versions as your tags. By doing keyword research, use the keywords which match your video content. Make sure, you use relevant keywords as your tags.

  • Transcript: Transcription also helps you increase your video presence in YouTube search results. Many people ignore this or don’t know about this feature, but it is also one of the ranking factors for YouTube videos as it is used to rank your YouTube videos. If you ever read the transcription generated automatically machine? It sucks with lot of mistakes. So, take some time to write your own transcript for your video and upload it in YouTube. Some tests have even proved that, a video got ranked with the keywords present in Transcript even though those keywords were not present in its title, description or tags. So, providing transcript will help you rank your YouTube video.


  • Channel Authority: For ranking your YouTube videos, YouTube also considers your Channel Authority. YouTube is looking for channels with good authority, who regularly uploads good videos and ranks for its terms. If you have a channel with good authority means, chances are more for your video to get ranked well when compared with others. It will be pretty easy for you to rank your new videos, if you already have a channel with good authority. But there are people who don’t have a channel at all but still rank their videos in top in YouTube which I am going to reveal in the next step.

    Second part of YouTube Ranking Factors:

    What we’ve discussed so far are the first part of YouTube Ranking factors, there are other factors you need to consider when trying to rank your YouTube video.

    Keep on reading to know more about YouTube ranking factors

    You are not the only one who is trying to rank your video for your desired keywords. There will be other competitors who are trying their best to rank for the same keywords you were trying for. Ranking a YouTube video is not only about having an awesome title, description and tags. You need to have more, what we have discussed so far are the first part of ranking your video. In the second part, you need to get engagement for your videos in order for them to rank well.

    Views with high retention rate: YouTube considers ranking your video more and more if you get more and more views. But in order to rank you need to get views, but in order to get views, you need to rank. It’s a like a loop. But, that’s how Google is going to determine whether to rank your video or not. If your video was watched by a user and If he watched till the end of the video, then Google will think like, the user has watched the video till the end, that means, he liked the video till the end and he wants to rank this video, so Google will automatically considers your video is a good one and will rank your video if you get more and more views. If your video was watched only like 10 secs, then Google considers your video as cheap quality because people are not watching it till the end. So, if you have a good quality informational video, people will automatically like it and watch it till the end.

    You can see the reports of your video’s retention rate in your YouTube analytics.

    Here is the sample report for one of my videos.

    If your videos were watched 100% means, the chances are more that your video will be ranked high than others. If you have a poor retention rate means, you need to work on your video and try to give something valuable to your users, so that they can watch it till the end.

    “The more quality your views are the better it ranks”

    Inbound Links: Yes, you heard it right, inbound links, is also one of the YouTube ranking factor. For people who know SEO, inbound links are very important for ranking their website, and YouTube is also considering inbound links for ranking a YouTube video. The more inbound links you have for your website, the better it ranks in Google, in the same way, the more inbound links you have for your Channel and for your YouTube video, the better it ranks in YouTube search results. So, try to get more natural links to your YouTube video, by sharing it in social networks and social bookmarking sites. If people like your video, they will automatically link your YouTube video in their blogs and in their social network accounts.

    Try to include your YouTube video everywhere like when sending an email to your friends include your YouTube video in your email. When writing a press release, try to include your YouTube video in that press release, as the press release will be picked up by many outlets and there by you will get more natural links to your YouTube video which will help your video to get ranked high in YouTube.

    Social Shares: YouTube also considers social shares as one of the ranking factors. The more social shares you have for your video, the better it ranks in YouTube. YouTube has inbuilt functionality to share your YouTube videos to other social network platforms. First of all share your videos to your social networking accounts and hope they will be re shared by your friends to their friends and goes on.

    Share your videos on your Facebook, Twitter, Google + and other social media profiles to get more engagement like shares which will help your video to get ranked high than others.

    Embeds: Getting more embeds for your YouTube videos will help your video to get ranked high. As, Embeds is also a ranking factor which YouTube considers when ranking a video.

    After you have uploaded your video in YouTube, you need to work on your video to get it ranked well. For that, you need to get embeds of your video. In order to get embeds, you need to share your YouTube video in social bookmarking sites, embed your video in press releases, share it in emails, share it in your social networking accounts, embed it in your personal blogs and approach related blogs for your video and ask them if they could embed your video in their blogs.

    Comments & Video Responses: YouTube also considers the number of comments and video responses when ranking a video. If your video has good number of natural comments from different users and video responses from other videos, then YouTube will think like, since people loved what they saw, so they are showing their engagement with comments and video responses and they want your video to be ranked. So automatically YouTube will considers ranking your video if you have those signals.

    Make sure, you get all the comments naturally, Google can easily detect if you are faking any comments. Just make an awesome video and let your viewers comment on your video naturally. Google is looking to rank videos which has good engagement, so the more responses your video has, the better it will rank. Having more comments determines that your video is worth and so people are commenting on it.

    In order to get video responses, the best possible way is to approach your friends who are trying to rank their YouTube videos too and ask them if they want to trade video responses with your video and vice versa. This is the best and easiest way to get video responses to your videos.

    Likes and Favorites: This is the last but not least ranking factor for YouTube videos. The more likes and favorites you have for your video, the better it is going to rank for your keywords. Again, remember, everything should come naturally, the comments, likes and favorites. The first and foremost thing is to create an awesome video, if your video is really awesome, then people have no problem liking your video and some might add your video as their favorite.

    Conclusion:

    On overall, you need to create an awesome video, then everything will come naturally. When someone shared your video on their YouTube channel, that means they are passing their page rank to yours and similarly when someone does a video response to your video, that means, they are passing authority to your video. Finally, it’s all about engagement, YouTube wants your video to be high quality. So, if you produce an awesome video, people are going to watch it till the end, people are going to engage in it by commenting on it and linking and adding to their favorites. This is why YouTube considers these many ranking factors to rank a video. They want awesomeness in your video to get ranked.

    Please leave comments if you have any questions regarding this.

How to Promote ClickBank Products?

How to Promote ClickBank Products?

When I first started with my affiliate marketing career, I wondered on how to promote clickbank products. For that, I’ve tried searching in Google and asked in many forums, but none of them helped me to understand how to promote Clickbank products and make some money. As I have tried different methods of promotion, but nothing has helped me to make a single sale. Later, I gave up on promoting clickbank products and became successful with promoting other type of products.

Once, I have mastered my marketing, I decided to jump into promoting clickbank products again. And now, I can earn decent money with clickbank.

Here is the screenshot of my latest earnings through clickbank

It’s just a small test I ran for testing clickbank products. There are people who are making around $32,000 daily by promoting clickbank products.

If you happen to see Clickbank’s top selling products, you can see in the product description that people are making $32k per day. At first I was skeptical about all these. But later, when I got into promoting clickbank products and saw my revenue, I think all this is true. And yes! People making huge money from Clickbank.

In the above screenshots, you can see, the vendors are displaying the results bought by their affiliates. So, how to promote them?

You can do it in two ways.

  1. Free Promotion
  2. Paid Promotion

You might have already heard about some of the promotions for clickbank, but I am going to show you in a detailed way with examples.

First of all, know about you and know about what topics you are knowledgeable in and find the products related to the topics you are knowledgeable in Clickbank marketplace, as clickbank has products on almost all types of topics. If you don’t find a product on your topic and still want to make money from clickbank, then pick a top converting product from that market place.

Now, you have a product which you are going to use it for promotion and make some money.

Article Syndication:

You can earn passive income by promoting clickbank products through Article Syndication. Many people will give up on article syndication at some point if they don’t get any sales and think that article syndication doesn’t work anymore. But that’s not true. It still works! But you need to do it in the right way.

Here is how to promote your products through Article Syndication

Setup a WordPress Blog

First of all, you need to setup a WordPress blog about the product you are going to promote. If you are trying to promote a product on how to get your ex back.

Then start a blog on how to get your ex back and write some useful articles on that topic. Remember to give your readers some valuable information through your articles. They need to be unique and well researched and should be more than 2000 words per article.

Publish around 20 articles in your blog and display a banner of the product you are going to promote from clickbank and also try to include your clickbank hop link in the end of each article.

This is your first step, once you have done with your blog setup, you can focus on bringing targeted visitors to your blog.

An example blog would look like this for Get Your Ex Back Niche

Many people think that, article syndication means, promoting your articles in sites like Ezinearticles.com, Goarticles.com and other article sites.

But it’s not. Promoting your articles in ezinearticles and goarticles is also one step of promotion, but there are other productive ways to promote your articles.

To get started with promoting of your articles, you need to have a top notch unique article which was not published anywhere else. Make sure it is 1500+ word article. Once you have the unique and unpublished article, submit that article to one of the article sites like ezinearticles with having a link to your blog in that submitted article.

Like in the below image

It will take a week to review your article by the ezinearticle editors. If they find it unique, they will publish that in ezinearticles website. Sites like ezinearticles, they have millions of subscribers looking for fresh content. So, if you publish a 1500+ word well researched article to ezinearticle means, the chances are very high that your article will get picked up by many other blogs looking for fresh content. Since, you already placed a link to your blog in the submitted article, your link will also get published in other sites where your article got picked.

So now that, you will get a lot of exposure by having your blog link in many sites. Websites who picked your article for publishing in their site are the sites on similar topic of yours.

An article on how to get your ex back will be picked up by the sites which are related to relationships. So, the visitors coming to the site where your article got published are targeted visitors with similar interest in your topic, so when they read your published your article which will make the visitor visit your blog and finally your blog makes the visitor click on the banner or link. And finally, the visitor will visit your clickbank link and if the landing page for the clickbank offer looks promising the visitor will buy the clickbank product from your hop link.

Didn’t get results?

If you think you have already tried this method with ezinearticles and didn’t get any results. Then probably you didn’t submitted quality articles which are enough to be picked up by other sites. This is the reason why many people give up at some point with ezinearticles promotion.

But I am not done yet, there is more to do with article syndication.

Ezinearticles only won’t help you

Publishing your articles in Ezinearticles won’t bring you expected results. You need to do guest posting too. Offering guest posts in sites with related topic of yours, once your guest post was accepted, then you will get a link back to your blog which will not only bring targeted visitors but also a backlink to your blog.

Imagine yourself, if you can get hundreds or thousands of guest posts published in other sites, then you will have hundreds of thousands of targeted visitors and backlinks to your blog. Which will increase your blog presence in Google and also people can easily find your blog through Search Engines.

So, in order to get free traffic and get sales from clickbank, you need to do article syndication through ezinearticles, other article sites and Guest postings. And in long run, when you got few hundreds or thousands of articles published in relevant blogs, you will get constant targeted traffic and there by you can earn passive income.

Marketing Clickbank products through YouTube Marketing:

You can also promote clickbank products by using YouTube. You can do this by making videos on the product keywords and uploading them in YouTube.

For example: If your product is on how to get your ex back

Then if you search in YouTube with that keyword, you can see a lot of videos popping up as shown below.

Most clickbank marketers review the product and make it as a video and upload it in YouTube. When their YouTube video gets ranked, they will get targeted visitors to their video. And in the description of the video, they will place their Clickbank hop link.

Eventually, if the viewer finds your video as useful, they will click on your hop link and eventually they will purchase your product.

But, ranking your YouTube videos depends on lot of factors, which you can read it in my other article.

Paid Promotions:

  1. Find a website where your targeted traffic would be
  2. Buy an ad in that website
  3. Wait for sales

Finding a website to advertise on:

Suppose, if you are trying to promote a product on weight loss.

Find websites which gives tips on how to lose weight and how to be in fit. You can do that by searching for weight loss related keywords in Google and approach those websites individually for advertising.

Some Advertising networks offer a list of websites they have in their network who offers advertising space in their website.

An example of that advertising network is Buysellads.com

Buysellads.com offers advertising space in websites. Just browse through their market place and see if you can buy an ad in sites where your targeted visitors will be.

Take the following site as an example: FitbodyHQ.com

You can buy ad space in that website through BuySellAds.com. Most of the visitors who come to that website are people who wanted to be in fit and who want to lose weight.

For this type of audience, you can promote a weight loss product or six pack abs product.

If you go through the website, you can see a couple of ads which were already bought by other advertisers who are promoting clickbank products in it.

Take a look at the following ad

The above banner leads to Fat Diminisher which is one of the top offer in Clickbank.

You can advertise on numerous websites through buysellads.com. All you need to do is finding the right website and right product for that website and there by you can earn some money by promoting clickbank products.

Apart from buying ads in websites, you can also make a deal with the website owners to send promotional emails to their users through their list.

This is also a great way to get targeted traffic.

Promoting through 7Search:

Though you can’t make millions through 7Search advertising, but for people who are just starting with affiliate marketing, this will help you to understand how to promote products.

According to my view, 7Search traffic is low quality and it’s hard to make a sale from its traffic. Instead of trying for a sale, you can create an email list with 7Search advertising.

An example can be found below:

7Search serves ads in their search engine, and when people search for the terms, ads will be displayed based on the searched terms.

In the above, I searched for the keyword get your ex back, for US geo and basing on that, relevant ads were displayed.

In the above ads, one advertiser is building list with his ad and the other guy is trying to achieve a sale by direct link his hop link to that ad. So that the visitor will be directly taken to clickbank offer when he clicked on the ad.

Below is the sample opt in page which the above advertiser is using for collecting user’s email to promote his clickbank product using email marketing

Once you find that your campaign is profitable with the one of the advertising networks like Buysellads.com or 7search.com

You should scale your campaign by advertising in other ad networks too. Some of the popular ad networks are

List of other Advertising networks

Sitescout.com

Propellerads.com

Adcash.com

Bing Ads – bingads.microsoft.com

Chitika Ads – chitika.com

And many more.

I will be writing a list of advertising networks available in my next article.